top of page

Ye Olde Virtual Reality Dev Blog #4

This week I mainly continued working on my model, checking up on everyone else's models and started assign texturing to Aeisha and myself. I had to communicate with my HUB team on figuring out how we wanted to have the layout done. I thought about possibly doing sketch plans for the layouts however I thought it would still make it hard to understand the layout and how it would feel to the player. I heard about a program called MagicaVoxel which I very quickly learnt how to use during the week so that I could do the designs for the hub in a 3D space. There was a basic design that we had which was just a square tavern, a second design which was extended from the first design and the final design which Eric came out, which separated the minigames a bit more but the players would still be able to see each game and just have more concrete areas for the games, the games wont clash together as much.

So I ended up making these designs in MagicaVoxel, which will be shown below.

The first design was pretty simplistic, it's very minimalistic and bare looking. The player enters and has the bar on the lest of them, and on the right of them there is the catapult beer pong game. On the other side of the bar, to the left there is a mage that will transport the player to the arena for the swords arena minigame, then to the right there is the spinning wheel darts game. The area in between these minigames will be filled with tables and chairs as well as miscellaneous patrons.

The second design is very similar to the first design. Shawn wanted the area for his catapult game to be put into another 'room' in the game world. Which Hayden and myself were a bit iffy about, we ended up talking to Shawn and he ended up saying that maybe just extend the area that the catapult game would be in. So that it seems like the minigame is in another room but it's not closed off. Shawn wanted this because he wants the player to be able to flip the table. The HUB team and Hayden weren't too sure about this design for the tavern, it gives the tavern a weird shape.

The third design which Eric told me about ended up being the teams favourite design. He wanted the tavern to have a little area in the front that the player can move around in, we can have tables and stools and the miscellaneous patrons. At the end the player will see the bar, to the left of the bar there will be the mage that will transport the player to the swords minigame arena, then next to that in a sort of railed off area is where the spinning wheel minigame is. To the right of the bar in the railed off area is where the catapult beer pong minigame will be situated. The areas will be all a bit separated but will still allow the player to distinguish the play areas and games.

During class this week I was working on helping Aeisha texture some of the models that our group members gave to us and on the weekend I ended up working a bit more on my big Berta model.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page